Three Things
Make Me A
Better Coach
 
1. Love for tennis
2. Passion for coaching people
3. Permanent studying

JANUARY 2020

Armita Omidian's
profile
page on
LinkedIn.

Facebook

profile

here.

Armita Omidian works at the Bank of Industry and Mine Club ( Ajoudaniye Tennis Club).
Address: Bank of Industry and Mine Club, Abrar Alley, Ajoudaniye Ave, Tehran, Iran.

HEAD-TCB-Skyscraper.jpg
PTR-Ad-122019.jpg

QUESTIONS FOR ARMITA OMIDIAN

TCB: Armita, where were you born?

AO: I was born in Iran, Kermanshah.

 

TCB: How old were you when you started with tennis and who got you into the sport?
AO: I was 19 years old. My mom supported me to do that.

 

StonesNet-Ad-012020.jpg

TCB: After working in business you started teaching tennis. How did this come about?

AO: At the beginning, when my coach was off she passed me the other players to coach them. After a while, I found that I am creative and can make a proper connection with players. I found my talent at that time (it was about 12 years ago)

TCB: When did you decide to become PTR-certified and why?
AO: It was about 3 years ago, one of my co-workers in the club, when he realized my interest in coaching and in new methods, he introduced me to PTR. I always wanted to be taught in an effective way of coaching and thanks to the PTR organization, the first course was scheduled in Dubai February of 2017.

TCB: Do you like the PTR? Are you getting good support from them?
AO: For sure I like it because of its professional support and its courses as well as being with a great association. 
Plus: My Coach Mr. Inaki Balzola, each time that I have a question, he quickly answers me. He is the best with great teaching skills. He even does it in another language. His English is Perfect, his presenting abilities are fantastic.

TCB: What do you like teaching more, adults or kids?
AO: I prefer teaching Kids because 10 and under players are first and foremost children who are growing and just moving toward puberty and then adulthood.

TCB: How is teaching tennis as a woman in Iran? Do you get a lot of support in your work? What kind of challenges are you dealing with?
AO: It has its own challenges like every other sport for a woman in my country. All the support I get is only
 from my family and my husband. First of all, it is not serious for the government to invest in women's sports including coaching, especially in tennis. There is also a lot of discrimination between male and female coaches such as the payment for classes, which is usually higher for males than for females. There are other types of challenges that are common for all ladies such as being fully covered (HEJAB) on outdoor courts.

TCB: How many days/hours do you work each week?
AO: It varies in cold and warm seasons, but I can say, it is 5-6 days a week, 25-30 hours a week on average.


TCB: What are your plans for the future?
AO: I will try to be updated always and learn new methods and use any opportunity to be a professorial tennis coach. This March I will get my performance certificate from the PTR, if this happens I will get general from PTR. (actually, the first time in Iran one woman gets general (10 and under,11 to 17, adult and performance). I do my best to be a skillful coach and I am planning to move abroad to a developed country with my husband to improve my lifestyle and coaching skills.

Congratulations to

Armita Omidian for being our

January 2020

Tennis Pro of the Month.

TCB: What is your tennis racquet of choice?

AO: Actually because I am a fan of Roger Federer, I always choose Wilson. My Racquet is PRO STAFF  RF 97 (290 gr) now  and my next one will be Clash 295 g Wilson

TCB: Are you in the below photo? (Our guess: bottom row, second on the right)

AO: I am the fourth one on the right in the bottom row.

 

TCB: Thank you, Armita Omidian.

© 2020 by Tennis Media Group, 4324 Troost Ave, Suite 302, Studio City, CA 91604, U.S.A.  Tel 818-809-8327  info@tennismediagroup.com

  • Rich Neher Facebook
  • Rich Neher Twitter